Remixed: The Drums - How It Ended (Duologue Remix) [Premiere]

on Tuesday, November 08, 2011
Remixed is a column that will highlight remixes we actually think are worthy of praise, be they old or new. Because most remixes are rubbish. // Words: Saam Das

Duologue already have past form on producing not-diabolically-crap remixes, with their excellent recent Givers remix. Their newest slice of brilliance twists the latest single from The Drums into a wide-eyed, hot electronic mess. We're premièring the track and you can download it for free below. Prepare to be razzle-dazzled.

Admittedly, the Duologue remix of 'How It Ended' begins in a more than slightly dubious fashion. Remember the days of MySpace and when a track used to automatically start playing....invariably over the top of a track you were already listening to. Well, it's a bit like that.

When it grows out of its conflicted beginnings, the track grows into something increasingly curious. Parts of the track travel close to the chop-pop of Clock Opera while others find themselves in the experimental electronica of an Animal Collective. The result is unexpectedly hypnotic and utterly compelling.

FREE DOWNLOAD: The Drums - How It Ended (Duologue Remix) by fadedglamourblog

Catch The Drums live at the following UK tour dates:

Mon 28-Nov Birmingham Institute The Library
Tue 29-Nov Newcastle O2 Academy
Wed 30-Nov Leeds Metropolitan University
Sat 03-Dec Glasgow O2 ABC
Sun 04-Dec Edinburgh Picture House
Mon 05-Dec Cambridge Junction
Tue 06-Dec Portsmouth Pyramids Centre
Thu 08-Dec Bristol O2 Academy
Fri 09-Dec London O2 Shepherds Bush Empire *SOLD OUT*
Sat 10-Dec Manchester Ritz *SOLD OUT*

The Drums' latest album 'Portamento' is out now. Duologue will be releasing their 'A-B' EP in December.

msn spaces tracker